

College of Engineering Cherthala

Managed by IHRD, Government of Kerala Pallippuram P.O, Alappuzha District, Kerala, India-688541 ph: 0478-2552714, 0478-2553416 web: www.cectl.ac.in



No. E/1/2022/CEC (1)

Dated 7.2.2022

Office Order

UGC has given instructions to constitute an equal opportunity cell in every academic institution consisting of faculty and students with the following aim and objectives.

The overarching Aim of Equal opportunity Cell:

The basic aim of the equality cell is to ensure that students and faculty belonging to various diverse backgrounds of community, religion, region, gender or ability are not deprived of their basic opportunities. They all must have access to all the basic rights to promote inclusivity and harmony.

Objectives of Equal opportunity Cell:

- Eliminate the discrimination or harassment.
- Promote equality among all.
- To adopt and implement harmonized guidelines and space standards for a barrier free built environment for all.
- To identify the issues in the campus and to provide an enabling and non-discriminative environment for all.
- To promote inclusive policies and practices for all on the campus.
- To look into the grievances and ensure equality and equal opportunities to the disadvantaged group on campus through proper implementation of policies, skills, and programs of society.
- To disseminate the information related to schemes, programs, notifications/memoranda, office orders of the Govt., related to welfare of target groups from time to time.
- To promote diversity and inclusive practices on campus and provide the underprivileged groups with adequate opportunities.
- Safeguard the interest of students without any prejudice to their caste, creed, religion, language, ethnicity, gender and disability.
- To create an atmosphere of Equal Opportunity through awareness generation programmes.

- To provide auxiliary support towards skill development and enhancing employability of students.
- To expedite legal redressal in matters of violation of equal opportunity.

Therefore the following committee is constituted to serve as the Equal Opportunity cell and internal committee for differently abled students.

- 1. Principal ex officio
- 2. Head of the Department, Electronics Engineering ex officio
- 3. Head of the Department, Computer Engineering ex officio
- 4. Head of the Department, Mechanical Engineering ex officio
- 5. Head of the Department, Electrical Engineering ex officio
- 6. Head of the Department, Applied Science ex officio
- 7. PTA Vice President (parent)- ex officio
- 8. PTA Secretary (faculty) ex officio
- 9. Faculty Adviser to Senate ex officio
- 10. Senate Chairman ex officio
- 11. Senate General Secretary ex officio

Principal

CC: all members of the committee.